clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Beltran earns first senior USMNT call-up, Beckerman continues in January camp

RSL defender Tony Beltran has earned his first call-up to the senior U.S. national tema, while Kyle Beckerman continues his string of appearances in the largely-MLS January camp.


Real Salt Lake right back Tony Beltran has been called up to the U.S. Men's National Team for the first time, joining Kyle Beckerman as RSL's U.S. representatives in the largely-MLS January camp.

Beltran, 25, started and played in 32 of RSL's 34 matches in 2012, more than any single player on the squad. It marked a significant departure from his rotation status following the offseason departure of Robbie Russell.

"For a footballer, to be called in to represent one's country is the highest honor. I am thrilled to be able to begin the year with this new challenge," Beltran said in a club-issued press release. "I go into camp as I do anything in life, ready to learn and work hard. My hope is to leave my mark with the team, and return to RSL the better for the experience, ready for the 2013 season."

Beltran, a former Generation Adidas player, has been involved in the U.S. youth setups as recently as 2008, when he played two matches for the Under-23s. He also played with the U.S. Under-20s in the U-20 World Cup in 2007.

Beltran and Beckerman will both be hoping to make an appearance in an international friendly against Canada immediately following the end of the training camp on Jan. 29 in Houston.

Because the camp does not fall during an international window, it is largely composed of MLS players. RSL goalkeeper Nick Rimando, a consistent call-up during 2012 under Jurgen Klinsmann, is not included.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)

DEFENDERS (9): Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Alfredo Morales (Hertha Berlin), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Jeff Parke (Philadelphia Union)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (out of contract), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud(Rosenborg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Joshua Gatt (Molde), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (Chivas USA), Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Edson Buddle (Colorado Rapids), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)