clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Unsurprising set of RSL six named to All-Star ballot


An unsurprising group of six has been named to the MLS All-Star voting ballot from Real Salt Lake: Nick Rimando, Nat Borchers, Tony Beltran, Kyle Beckerman, Javier Morales and Alvaro Saborio.

Rimando, Borchers, Beckerman and Saborio all made the ballot for 2012, while Javier Morales returns to the ballot for the first time since 2010. In a telling progression in his career, Tony Beltran made the list for his first time.

The ballot was created through a media panel voting process. Fan voting will take place until July 2. The final team to play under Sporting KC coach Peter Vermes will be composed of the fan-voted eleven (including a forward voted for separately after the initial fan voting — by fans playing FIFA 13, strangely enough), two commissioner's selections, and a selection of players who receive at least two votes from other players during player-voting. (Convoluted enough? I suppose so.)

The remainder of the inactive roster will be named by player voting.

Via an MLS press release, the schedule:

June 10: Fan voting begins

June 20-21: Fan voting Twitter window

July 2: Initial fan voting window closes

July 3: AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game' Challenge begins

July 7: Fan XI announced during halftime of CHI-SKC on ESPN at 3 p.m. ET

July 10: AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game' Challenge ends

July 11: AT&T MLS All-Star ‘In the Game' Forward unveiled

July 15: Commissioner selections and game day roster announced

July 31: MLS All Stars vs. AS Roma at Sporting Park at 9 p.m. ET (ESPN2, UniMas, TSN, RDS)