clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Beckerman, Rimando make 35-man U.S. preliminary roster for Gold Cup

Chris Covatta/Getty Images

Nick Rimando and Kyle Beckerman are likely be Real Salt Lake's only U.S. representatives in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup after they were named to the 35-man provisional roster earlier today.

The two have become near-constants for the U.S. under Jurgen Klinsmann, with Rimando a second-choice goalkeeper behind Brad Guzan and Beckerman a consistent tactical option.

The provisional roster is a substantial one: 35 players were named, and that will be further whittled down before the tournament starts next month.

Interestingly, it was arguably the 2013 Gold Cup that propelled Beckerman that consistent role, as he's been more involved since that point. He'd been receiving occasional call-ups since before 2011, but that 2013 campaign arguably secured his place for the 2014 World Cup and beyond.

United States preliminary roster

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)