clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RSL declines 10 contract options, takes 7

The times, they are a-changin’.

RSL general manger Craib Waibel Lucas Muller | RSL Soapbox

Real Salt Lake’s roster is set for a substantial shakeup in 2019, with a number of players having their contract options declined — and a smaller number having their contract options taken.

The Salt Lake Tribune released the list today, which was provided to reporters during a press availability on Tuesday, pending release from the club.

That list, from an RSL-issued press release:

  • Connor Sparrow
  • Tony Beltran
  • David Horst
  • Taylor Peay
  • Demar Phillips
  • Jose Hernandez
  • Luke Mulholland
  • Sunny
  • Ricky Lopez-Espin
  • Luis Silva

Of these, Connor Sparrow, Sunny and Jose Hernandez have more-or-less announced their departures. A number of these players suffered from long-term injuries, including Sparrow, Beltran, Horst, Mulholland, Lopez-Espin and Luis Silva.

A handful of players had their contract options taken:

  • Andrew Putna
  • Danilo Acosta
  • Nick Besler
  • Corey Baird
  • Joao Plata
  • Sebastian Saucedo
  • Jefferson Savarino

And, of course, some other players fit into neither bucket — those players already had their contract guaranteed:

  • Alex Horwath
  • Nick Rimando
  • Justen Glad
  • Adam Henley
  • Aaron Herrera
  • Brooks Lennon
  • Nedum Onuoha
  • Marcelo Silva
  • Kyle Beckerman
  • Damir Kreilach
  • Pablo Ruiz
  • Albert Rusnak
  • Jordan Allen

Even though a player’s contact option was declined does not mean we won’t see them play for Real Salt Lake again. The club may decline the option to work out another deal, likely one that is more beneficial for the team.