clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utah Royals schedule released for team’s inaugural NWSL season

New, 1 comment

Only one date sees both RSL and the Royals at Rio Tinto Stadium.

Utah Royals FC home schedule saw the light of day today, and though there are plenty of mid-day matches, it certainly starts giving all you fine folks an opportunity to start planning your lives around the team.

You can find the full schedule at the bottom of the page, and we’ll feature a master schedule for the three professional soccer teams in Utah later in the week.

Only 11 dates overlap between the two teams, with just one date at Rio Tinto Stadium featuring two matches — that’s on Aug. 11, when I’m sure the Royals will feel very pleasant in 100-degree heat at 1:30 p.m.; RSL kicks off at 8 p.m. on that night.

  • March 30: TFC vs. RSL, 6 p.m.; Houston vs. Royals, 6 p.m.
  • April 21: North Carolina vs. Royals, 1:30 p.m.; RSL vs. Colorado, 7 p.m.
  • May 19: Utah Royals vs. Houston, 1:30 p.m.; Philadelphia Union vs. RSL, TBA
  • June 2: Sky Blue vs. Royals, 5 p.m.; RSL vs. Seattle, 7:30 p.m.
  • June 23: Chicago vs. Royals, 6 p.m.; RSL vs. San Jose, 8 p.m.
  • June 30: Columbus vs. RSL, 5:30 p.m.; Royals vs. Seattle, 8 p.m.
  • July 14, Royals vs. Orlando, 1:30 p.m.; Minnesota vs. RSL, 6 p.m.
  • Aug. 11, Royals vs. Seattle, 1:30 p.m.; RSL vs. Montreal, 8 p.m.
  • Aug. 18, Sky Blue vs. Royals, 4:30 p.m.; Houston vs. RSL, 6 p.m.
  • Sept. 15, NWSL semifinals; RSL vs. Minnesota United, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sept. 22, NWSL finals; Atlanta vs. RSL, 5 p.m.

Utah Royals inaugural schedule

Date Opponent Kickoff (Mountain)
Date Opponent Kickoff (Mountain)
Sat., Mar. 24 @ Orlando Pride 5:30
Fri., Mar. 30 @ Houston Dash 6:00
Sat., Apr. 14 Chicago 1:30
Sat., Apr. 21 @ North Carolina 1:30
Sat., Apr. 28 Portland 7:00
Sat., May. 5 Washington 7:00
Wed., May. 9 Orlando 7:00
Sat., May. 19 Houston 1:30
Fri., May. 25 @ Portland Thorns 8:30
Sat., Jun. 2 @ Sky Blue FC 5:00
Sat., Jun. 16 @ North Carolina 5:00
Sat., Jun. 23 @ Chicago Red Stars 6:00
Wed., Jun. 27 Seattle 8:00
Sat., Jun. 30 Sky Blue FC 8:00
Fri., Jul. 6 @ Portland Thorns 9:00
Wed., Jul. 11 @ Seattle Reign FC 8:30
Sat., Jul. 14 Orlando 1:30
Fri., Jul. 20 North Carolina 8:00
Sun., Aug. 5 @ Houston Dash 6:30
Wed., Aug. 8 Washington 8:00
Sat., Aug. 11 Seattle 1:30
Sat., Aug. 18 @ Sky Blue FC 4:30
Wed., Aug. 22 @ Washington Spirit 5:30
Sat., Sep. 8 Chicago 1:30
Sat., Sep. 15 NWSL Semifinals TBD
Sat., Sep. 22 NWSL Championship TBD

Key Matches

Since this is Utah’s first season, the team has not quite developed a rivalry. However, these are the matches that will feature a bit of history:

  • Saturday, April 14 - Chicago Red Stars come to town in the NWSL Game of the Week featured on Lifetime. Chicago has been one of the top teams since 2015, reaching the postseason three years in a row, and they will have Australian international and 2017 NWSL MVP Sam Kerr on the roster for this season. Though Kerr will not make the trip to Utah for this match due to international duty, the Royals will have a grand home opener against a quality team.
  • Saturday, April 28 - 2017 NWSL Champions Portland Thorns. The Thorns are the elite team in the NWSL. They average around 16,000 fans at their home games and play physical football. Oh, and they tend to rival with everyone in the league because they’re the mighty Thorns, so expect Utah to do so as well.
  • Wednesday, May 9 - Orlando Pride (aka Sydney Leroux’s new team). Leroux wanted to be traded to Orlando from Utah after the Royals acquired her rights. She will play against her former FCKC teammates.
  • Wednesday, June 27 - Seattle Reign FC (aka Laura Harvey’s former team). Head coach Laura Harvey was greatly successful at Seattle, and she will face her former team and Vlatko Andonovski, who coached FC Kansas City and won two NWSL championships by defeating Seattle both times. There’s a mutual respect between the coaches.
  • Saturday, June 30 - Sky Blue FC (aka Kelley O’Hara’s and Taylor Lytle’s former team). O’Hara and Lytle played for the New Jersey-side all of their NWSL careers before being traded to Utah this past December.