clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NWSL Players Association releases 2018 player representatives list

Utah Royals FC name 6 players to work with second year players’ union.

2015 NWSL Championship Photo by Steve Dykes/Getty Images

The NWSL Players Association today announced via their Twitter account the following list of player representatives for the 2018 season:

With union president Yael Averbuch traded to Seattle in the offseason, FC Kansas City’s vice-captain Nicole Barnhart becomes Utah Royals FC’s primary representative in the organization that represents the non-subsidized players in the league. Veteran defender Becca Moros is the secondary, and then the league’s longest list of youth reps follows her.

Second year defender Sydney Miramontez, the third of the former FCKC players on the list, is joined by Abby Smith and Brooke Elby, which is a classy move by the team to include two of the Boston Breakers players who might have been representing their team had it stayed in the league this season. The final name on the list is training camp invitee and long-time Real Salt Lake Women captain Annie Hawkins, giving a voice to the local women’s soccer community alongside the NWSL players.

The players chosen for this second year of union representation covers a broad spectrum of the landscape for players of different ages and experience levels. The six players should be able to reach out to all of their teammates and work together to ensure that a strong voice is heard when the Royals FC representative attends union activities. As the league grows and player support improves, having this organization similar to other major sports leagues will help the players work with owners and the league office to guarantee the equal treatment these players deserve as professional athletes.