clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Utah Royals FC begin preseason, release roster

The 2019 NWSL preseason is here, and with the release of the roster, a brief breakdown.

Lucas Muller | RSL Soapbox

It’s week one of the 2019 NWSL preseason! As we saw teams around the NWSL release their rosters, we awaited Utah Royals FC to do the same, pretty much all day. But around the 7:00 PM mark, they did just that, released the much-anticipated preseason roster.

Immediately, you’ll notice new names like Veronica Boquete, who signed with the club in January, and Makenzy Doniak, who was acquired via the trade from North Carolina Courage last summer for the rights to Heather O’Reilly. Preseason is also a time for the club to invite players to tryout and for the draftees to show their skills. Additionally, all the international players have yet to report because they are with their national teams for tournaments. They should all report by week two of preseason, if not by the end of week one.

You’ll also notice all these acronyms by a player’s name indicating their status:

FED – 2019 Federation Player

CDP – 2019 NWSL College Draft pick

NRI – Non-Roster Invitee

NYR – Not Yet Reported to Camp

OM — Out of Market

In total, 30 players are a part of the 2019 preseason roster. That number will definitely be trimmed down as the season nears and Laura Harvey decides who deserves to be in the season roster. The roster size for the 2019 season is a minimum of 20 players and a maximum of 22 players.

2019 UTAH ROYALS FC PRESEASON ROSTER (as of Monday, March 4, 2019)

GOALKEEPERS (3): Nicole Barnhart, Melissa Lowder (NRI), Abby Smith

DEFENDERS (12): Katie Bowen (NYR), Rachel Corsie (NYR), Grace Hancock (NRI), Sam Johnson, Michelle Maemone (CDP), Sydney Miramontez, Rebecca Moros, Maddie Nolf (CDP), Kelley O’Hara (FED-USA; NYR), Becky Sauerbrunn (FED-USA;NYR), Haley Skolmolski (NRI), Gaby Vincent (NRI),

MIDFIELDERS (9): Lo’eau LaBonta, Veronica Boquete, Makenzy Doniak, Amanda Laddish, Taylor Lytle, Gunny Jonsdottir (NYR), Diana Matheson (FED-CAN; NYR), Desiree Scott (FED-CAN; NYR), Raissa Strom Okimito (NRI)

FORWARDS (6): Christen Press (FED-USA; NYR), Brittany Ratcliffe, Amy Rodriguez, Katie Stengel, Erika Tymrak, Alexandra Kimbell (CDP)

Oh, and ICYMI: