clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Guess who’s going to the World Cup? O’Hara, Press & Sauerbrunn with the USWNT

Kelley O’Hara, Christen Press & Becky Sauerbrunn named to 23-player U.S. roster

Cindy Lara | RSL Soapbox

We all knew it was coming. We’d probably be shocked if one of them did not make it. Utah Royals FC defenders Becky Sauerbrunn and Kelley O’Hara and forward Christen Press were officially named to the United States Women’s National Team roster for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup held in France.

The trio will be now be with the national team until the conclusion of the USWNT’s time in France. All three have played a major part in Utah’s 2-0 start in the 2019 NWSL season. Sauerbrunn led the backline in shutting down offenses; Press scored the game-winner vs. Orlando last week, and she provided an assist in the 1-0 win against Washington; and O’Hara has subbed in the second half to maintain momentum as she builds fitness after an ankle injury.

Sauerbrunn & O’Hara will make their third World Cup appearance, & Press with her second. The US is making its eighth appearance in a FIFA Women’s World Cup, and it is one of seven countries to appear in all eight editions of the tournament since 1991.

2019 United States FIFA Women’s World Cup Roster by Position (Club)

GOALKEEPERS (3): Adrianna Franch* (Portland Thorns FC), Ashlyn Harris** (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher** (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (7): Abby Dahlkemper* (NC Courage), Tierna Davidson* (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn* (NC Courage), Ali Krieger*** (Orlando Pride), Kelley O’Hara*** (Utah Royals FC), Becky Sauerbrunn*** (Utah Royals FC), Emily Sonnett* (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Morgan Brian** (Chicago Red Stars), Julie Ertz** (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan* (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle* (Washington Spirit), Allie Long* (Reign FC), Samantha Mewis* (NC Courage)

FORWARDS (7): Tobin Heath*** (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd**** (Sky Blue FC), Jessica McDonald* (NC Courage), Alex Morgan*** (Orlando Pride), Christen Press** (Utah Royals FC), Mallory Pugh* (Washington Spirit), Megan Rapinoe*** (Reign FC)

* First Women’s World Cup

** Second Women’s World Cup

*** Third Women’s World Cup

**** Fourth Women’s World Cup