clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RSL adds free-agent defender Ashtone Morgan, Toronto FC veteran

Morgan adds much-needed depth at left back.

MLS: Toronto FC at Real Salt Lake Jeff Swinger-USA TODAY Sports

In a move that bolsters Real Salt Lake’s defensive depth, the club has announced the addition of Ashtone Morgan, a 28-year-old veteran defender through free agency.

The left back, a Canadian citizen, comes in occupying an international spot. He’ll presumably be seated behind Donny Toia, although there’s certainly a battle for minutes to be fought there.

Morgan, who started with Toronto FC in 2011, has gone through periods of boom and bust at the club, playing frequently some seasons and sparsely in others, which corresponds interestingly to TFC’s cycling of hiring coach after coach until recent periods of stability.

It’s unclear if there are will be changes to international statuses on RSL’s roster to account for the move.

In a club-issued release, RSL general manager Elliot Fall praised Morgan’s experience in the league.

“Ashtone is a player who has tremendous MLS and Champions League experience at a very good organization in this league. He’s won a championship in this league and he’s been on our radar for a long time. We’re really excited to add him to our defensive group, which we feel is already excellent and will only get better with his addition.”

From the same release, RSL coach Freddy Juarez:

“Ashtone brings experience at left back and comes in to battle for a position so we can get the best out of that position. We think we have a very good left back in Donny, but bringing in Ashtone hopefully brings the best out of both of them. We expect him to come in and be a leader, incorporate himself into the group and add some quality to keep us going forward.”

RSL roster, per RSL Communications

  • Goalkeepers (3): Zac MacMath, David Ochoa, Andrew Putna
  • Defenders (8): Justen Glad, Aaron Herrera, Erik Holt, Alvin Jones, Ashtone Morgan, Nedum Onuoha, Marcelo Silva, Donny Toia
  • Midfielders (8): Luis Arriaga, Kyle Beckerman, Nick Besler, Damir Kreilach, Everton Luiz, Justin Portillo, Pablo Ruiz, Albert Rusnák
  • Forwards (8): Corey Baird, Maikel Chang, Milan Iloski, Sam Johnson, Douglas Martinez, Jefferson Savarino, Tate Schmitt, Julian Vazquez