clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RSL re-signs Luke Mulholland after injury-stricken 2018, 2019

MLS: Real Salt Lake at Chicago Fire Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

Real Salt Lake has finalized the signature of Luke Mulholland, according to a club-issued press release, bringing the 31-year-old midfielder back after two injury-stricken seasons.

Mulholland’s greatest impact with Real Salt Lake over those last two years was undoubtedly his veteran leadership while playing with Real Monarchs. His time with the Monarchs started as he worked to recover from a spate of injuries that had cost him time over 2018 and 2019.

There’s certainly some doubt over Mulholland’s ability to compete at an MLS level without injury concerns rearing up again — he’ll certainly have his work cut out for him to prove he can make it through a string of matches.

Of course, there’s also a possibility that he simply will serve in a backup role, which would see him as a peripheral figure.

From a club-issued release, RSL general manager Elliot Fall:

“Luke is an established member of our club and community and we are thrilled to have him back in an RSL jersey for the 2020 season. He is a player who has dealt with significant adversity over the last couple years and has bounced back in a fantastic way. Without his contributions, the Real Monarchs would not have had the postseason success they did last year — that alone shows his level of professionalism and character. He is a role model for our young players both on the field and in the locker room.”

From the club, here’s the latest roster:

Goalkeepers (3): Zac MacMath, David Ochoa, Andrew Putna

Defenders (8): Justen Glad, Aaron Herrera, Erik Holt, Alvin Jones, Ashtone Morgan, Nedum Onuoha, Marcelo Silva, Donny Toia

Midfielders (9): Luis Arriaga, Kyle Beckerman, Nick Besler, Damir Kreilach, Everton Luiz, Luke Mulholland, Justin Portillo, Pablo Ruiz, Albert Rusnák

Forwards (9): Corey Baird, Maikel Chang, Christopher Garcia, Milan Iloski, Sam Johnson, Douglas Martinez, Jeizon Ramírez, Tate Schmitt, Julian Vazquez