clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five URFC players on NWSL Allocated List for 2020

Christen Press, Becky Sauerbrunn, Kelley O’Hara, Diana Matheson, & Desiree Scott are Utah’s allocated players for 2020.

Canada v United States: Final - 2020 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Photo by Omar Vega/Getty Images

The NWSL announced today the list of allocated players from the United States and Canada for the upcoming 2020 season.

Allocated players are those who have have their salaries paid by the U.S. Soccer Federation or the Canadian Soccer Association. Five players from Utah Royals FC, the same five from the previous two seasons, will continue as allocated players:

  • Diana Matheson (CAN)
  • Kelley O’Hara (USA)
  • Christen Press (USA)
  • Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
  • Desiree Scott (CAN)

Four of those five players do not surprise anyone. O’Hara, Press, Sauerbrunn, & Scott continue to be an important part of their national teams. Matheson, however, is the head-scratcher. She did not play for URFC at all in 2019. An injury kept her from playing with Canada in the World Cup, and she has yet to join the national team since. How she will fit in Utah’s plans in 2020, especially with a new head coach, is unknown. Allocation does not necessarily guarantee playing time or starter status or at least, it shouldn’t.

Barring any injury, as part of their national team, all five players may make the roster for their respective 2020 Olympics roster.