clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Monarchs in Austin tonight for rematch against Bold FC

USL Championship investigation concludes with insufficient evidence to confirm abusive language

Lucas Muller | RSL Soapbox

Just 5 days after their contentious 1-1 draw against Austin Bold FC at Zions Bank Stadium, the Monarchs are in Austin to once again face the Bold in the second of four meetings during the 2021 USL Championship season. Following a formal complaint, the USL Championship yesterday issued a statement regarding their investigation into allegations of abusive and homophobic language by a Bold player during the match last Friday.

However, it is not a great leap to assume that emotions will continue to run high with the short run up to this rematch.

Friday’s match featured three Real Salt Lake players, Zac MacMath, Jeizon Ramirez and Milan Iloski making their first appearance for the Monarchs in the 2021 season joining Bode Davis. Chris Garcia and Jeff Dewsnup who have been with the USL side from the start of the season. It remains unclear whether these three will be travelling on this quick road trip to Austin and Hartford on Saturday or remain behind in SLC. With the departure of David Ochoa for duty with the USMNT it would seem likely that at least MacMath will remain in Salt Lake.

With only a 15 man roster of which only 8 have seen time on the field this season, the Monarchs continue to rely upon players down on loan from RSL and academy players to fill out their game day rosters. We can once again to see at least 6-7 Real Salt Lake and RSL Academy players make the game day 18 tonight and on Saturday in Hartford as the short turn around will favor the rotation among the available players.

This match will be broadcast on ESPN+ at 7:00 PM MDT and remain available for on-demand streaming on the same app.

Real Monarchs current roster as of May 26th, 2021

Goalkeepers (1): Jimmy Slayton

Defenders (5): Kyle Adams, James Moberg, Jaziel Orozco, Kevin Saucedo, Timi Sobowale

Midfielders (5): Sam Brown, Brayan Gomez, Josimar Quintero, Ibrahim Bancé, Julio Benitez

Forwards (4): Max Mata, Malik Johnson, Juan Vidal, Aris Briggs