clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sacramento Republic in town to face Monarchs tonight

Former coachs Mark Briggs and Matt Glaeser return

Lucas Muller | RSL Soapbox

Sacramento Republic FC visit Zions Bank Stadium tonight in the only meeting between these two teams this season. Sacramento arrives with a 2-3-1 record that is still good enough for the fourth playoff spot the Pacific Division, but have struggled of last as both wins came in their first two matches of the season. With their total expected goals for the season sitting at a paltry 5.56 through six matches and 7 actual goals, their offense has outperformed the odds but still continues to struggle to create high quality chances,. Defender Dan Casey, one of minute leaders on the field this season received a red card last weekend and will be serving his suspension this match.

The Monarchs are now winless in their last six matches at Zions Bank Stadium and have been held scoreless in three of the five matches this season. Scoring only one goal in their past four matches the Monarchs have a nearly identical total expected goals of 5.55 but through only 5 matches. Ibrahim Bance is the only player on the USL roster with a goal this season as the other two goals were scored by Bode Davis and Jeizon Ramirez while on loan from parent side Real Salt Lake.

Chris Garcia, James Moberg and Jimmy Slayton have been ruled unfit for tonight’s match. However the continuing influx of foreign signings, delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic, that began in earnest of the past few weeks should leave a full squad which can be expanded, as necessary, with players on loan from Real Salt Lake and the RSL Academy.

Tonight’s match will kick at 8Pm and be streamed on ESPN+ and KSL TV app. The Monarchs will travel to Edinburg for a match with Rio Grande Valley FC this Saturday before returning home to face El Paso Locomotive FC on Friday, June 18th,

Real Monarchs roster as of June 9th, 2021

Goalkeepers (1): Jimmy Slayton

Defenders (5): Kyle Adams, James Moberg, Jaziel Orozco, Kevin Saucedo, Timi Sobowale

Midfielders (5): Sam Brown, Brayan Gomez, Josimar Quintero, Ibrahim Bancé, Julio Benitez

Forwards (4): Max Mata, Malik Johnson, Juan Vidal, Aris Briggs