clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USL Pro playoff structure, conference alignment revealed

The structure of this year's USL Pro season has been unveiled, and Real Monarchs will play each conference opponent twice in addition to six individual matches against geographically convenient rivals. There had been no conference alignment before this year.

With so many teams entering the league in 2015 — mostly as MLS lower-division teams, but with some others joining this year, USL Pro's post-season structure has undergone a significant change, too. The top six finishers from each conference will move on to the playoffs, with the top two seeds from each conference bypassing the initial rounds.

Each round will be single-elimination with the higher-ranked seed hosting the match.

Eastern Conference

  • Charleston Battery
  • Charlotte Independence
  • FC Montreal
  • Harrisburg City Islanders
  • Louisville City FC
  • *New York Red Bulls
  • Pittsburgh Riverhounds
  • Richmond Kickers
  • Rochester Rhinos
  • Saint Louis FC
  • Toronto FC II
  • Wilmington Hammerheads FC

Western Conference

  • Arizona United SC
  • Austin Aztex
  • Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
  • LA Galaxy II
  • OKC Energy FC
  • Orange County Blues FC
  • Portland Timbers 2
  • Real Monarchs SLC
  • Sacramento Republic FC
  • Seattle Sounders FC 2
  • Tulsa Roughnecks FC
  • Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

Source: USL Pro press release revealing the conference structure