clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Inaugural Zions Bank Stadium Schedule Announced for Real Monarchs SLC

The 2018 Real Monarchs schedule features a number of midweek matches at their new Herriman home.

MLS: Vancouver Whitecaps vs Real Salt Lake Steve Dykes-USA TODAY Sports

The Real Monarchs start off their 2018 campaign on the road vs the Tulsa Roughnecks on Saturday 24th. Following that they come home to play the Portland Timbers on March 31 with their first ever game at Zions Bank Stadium.

Real Monarchs SLC 2018 Schedule

Day Date Matchup
Day Date Matchup
Sat 24-Mar @Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Sat 31-Mar Portland Timbers 2
Sat 7-Apr @Phoenix Rising FC
Wed 11-Apr @Seattle Sounders FC 2
Sat 21-Apr @Tampa Bay Rowdies
Mon 30-Apr Las Vegas Lights FC
Fri 4-May Orange County SC
Wed 9-May Swope Park Rangers
Sat 12-May Fresno FC
Sat 19-May @Las Vegas Lights FC
Sat 26-May @Portland Timbers 2
Tue 29-May Sacramento Republic FC
Mon 4-Jun Rio Grande Valley FC
Wed 13-Jun @Swope Park Rangers
Sat 16-Jun @Saint Louis FC
Tue 26-Jun Fresno FC
Tue 3-Jul @Reno 1868 FC
Sat 7-Jul @Sacramento Republic FC
Sat 14-Jul Seattle Sounders FC 2
Sat 21-Jul @San Antonio FC
Sat 28-Jul Phoenix Rising FC
Wed 8-Aug Reno 1868 FC
Sat 11-Aug @OKC Energy FC
Sat 18-Aug Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Sat 25-Aug LA Galaxy II
Wed 29-Aug @Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
Mon 3-Sep San Antonio FC
Sun 8-Sep @Rio Grande Valley FC
Wed 12-Sep Saint Louis FC
Wed 19-Sep @Orange County SC
Sat 22-Sep @LA Galaxy II
Sat 29-Sep Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
Wed 3-Oct OKC Energy FC
Sat 13-Oct @Fresno FC

The Monarchs have a favorable schedule for the 2018 season. They have a 5 game home stand from July 28th to August 25th where they play Phoenix, Reno, OKC, Tulsa and Los Angeles. This is their longest home stand of the season, in one of the hottest months to be in Utah but nevertheless, a string of home games will definitely help them through the season.

However, they do have a pretty long road trip to start the season. The Monarchs have 4 of their first 5 games on the road to start off the year with their second home match being Monday April 30th, a full month after the season has started. Fortunately enough for the rest of the season they go back and forth from home to away with at most two game road trips, a well balanced schedule could play to their advantage this season.

There are a few situations of quick turnaround games which may cause some risk of injury and depletion to the roster. There is a period of 8 days in the beginning of May where they play 3 games, one on 4th, the 9th and the 12th. There is also two games on July 3rd at Reno and July 7th at Sacramento that may be hard in the heat of the summer.

They end the season on Saturday October 13 playing the Tulsa Roughnecks. Their last home game at Zions Bank Stadium will be on October 3rd vs the OKC Energy. With this season being the inaugural season for the Monarchs new stadium, you’ll want to be sure to get out and watch as much of this season as possible. Get your tickets today for the full season at https://www.rsl.com/monarchs/season-tickets.