clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rimando one of six GKs called up to USMNT, won't miss RSL matches


Nick Rimando is one of six goalkeepers to be called up in the most recent U.S. Men's National Team roster, but he won't join the side until June 9, when World Cup qualifications will already be underway. As a result, he should miss no matches for the club.

The roster, which is for friendlies against Belgium (May 29) and Germany (June 2), as well as three 2014 World Cup qualifiers: Jamaica on June 7, Panama on June 11, and Honduras on June 18 at Rio Tinto Stadium.

Camp begins May 26, but players may arrive later owing to club commitments. As such, it's difficult to imagine Rimando will miss the match against Chicago Fire the preceding day.

In a press release, national team manager Jurgen Klinsmann noted a desire to keep MLS goalkeepers from missing matches.

"We have some excellent backup keepers starting with Nick Rimando, who's playing an outstanding season for Real Salt Lake and has done great with us every time he's come into camp," Klinsmann said. "We're also excited about the goalkeepers who come after him: Bill Hamid, Sean Johnson and Tally Hall. It's exciting that we can rotate them a bit in these upcoming couple of weeks because we don't want MLS goalies to miss too many of their games."

Klinsmann also noted in the press release that Kyle Beckerman is very much in line for a Gold Cup call-up.

Roster, via US Soccer

GOALKEEPERS (6) : Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8) : DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg)
MIDFIELDERS (10) : Michael Bradley (Roma), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Maurice Edu (Bursaspor), Stuart Holden (Bolton), Jermaine Jones (Schalke), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht), Brek Shea (Stoke City), Danny Williams (Hoffenheim), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (5) : Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Tottenham Hotspur), Herculez Gomez (Santos), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)